America: The Land Of The Free

America- established July 4th, 1776. Americans work hard, party hard, and are some of the most patriotic people I have ever met | and I’m glad to say I’m one of them. Yesterday was Independence day and I spent it with a big group of a diverse bunch of people. Most of us had one thing in common (the ren fair) so you could say we’re all pretty geeky, which I adored! There were a lot of veterans too so you could expect the patriotic-ness to be present. All in all the day was pretty fun!

Of course there was food….a LOT of food. But who’s complaining? No one. So yes, grilling is another American must.

Screenshot_2015-07-05-14-19-23-11436120208361

Can't forget dessert
Can’t forget dessert!

After about an hour or so of arriving, my mom and I hopped on the canoe and did a few rounds on the water. This is basically a tradition for me by now, canoeing is amazing! We ate when we got back and found that some of our friends had come, so we said hello to them and talked for a bit.

Screenshot_2015-07-05-02-36-56-1
Meet Timber!

Then more fun! There was appliance tossing (brought in the Irish bit), bow & arrows, throwing knives/stars/axes, drinking, and loads of fun. The entertainment really comes out to play at night though. When the sun started to go down, the glow sticks came out and the fireworks helped light up the sky. When people want fireworks…they get fireworks. Each year the show gets bigger, better, and more dangerous. Might I add we’re lighting up explosives in a guys backyard nonetheless. Anyway, there were some mishaps and explosions on the ground, but no one got badly hurt!

Screenshot_2015-07-05-14-10-38-1Screenshot_2015-07-05-14-10-05-1

You can guess what happened after that. Yeup, bonfire! Everyone gathered around the fire, talked about nonsense, drank, roasted marshmallows and made s’mores. To end the night, we all sang a song known dearly to us (song: Here’s a Health to the Company). It’s a song that ties everything off and connects us all.

Screenshot_2015-07-05-14-18-50-1

There was more talking and eating after, but that basically sums up the night!


I hope all of my fellow Americans had an amazing Independence day and enjoyed your freedom.

“I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free” -Lee Greenwood

Thanks for staying tuned!

Courtney

Leave a Reply

