Natural Everyday Products

After realizing how important it is to watch what types of things I put into my body, I’ve also become really aware of the things I put on my body. I’ve slowly been switching out products full of chemicals for natural ones to use everyday.

~Tea Tree Oil

I have very oily skin so I never used to think moisturizing my face was important until I noticed my face getting really dry after washing it. I tried using different face creams, but usually they ended up breaking me out. One day I read online that tea tree oil helps reduce hyper pigmentation, so I decided to give it a go, and realized it’s amazing! Now, I use it every day as a facial moisturizer {usually at night} after I wash my face. It has vitamin E-helps to lighten the skin {reducing pigmentation}, aloe vera-also helps with discoloration, and it’s an antibacterial fungus fighter which is perfect for fighting acne! A bottle of this lasts me a whole year and its only a couple dollars as well.

2016_0121_01160900.jpg

~Burt’s Bees Lip Balm

2016_0121_01171400.jpgI also have very chapped lips unfortunately, and nothing ever seems to help them. Although this is a more expensive product, I do notice more of a difference in the softness of my lips when using this compared to other lip balms. One drawback is that although it is 100% natural, its made from beeswax so its not vegan. I also slather on petroleum jelly as an alternative which works {just not as well in my case} and it’s cheaper!

~Homemade Deodorant

I’ve been wanting to try this out for years now, but I’ve never committed myself to actually making it until recently. Deodorants normally contain harmful ingredients such as aluminum that make their way into your bloodstream, especially when applied to porous areas such as your underarms. With that, I found a recipe online that contains all natural products, and trying it out for the past two weeks I can personally say it truly works! The only downside is that is contains coconut oil, which melts at around 76 degrees F, so I just store it in my fridge.2016_0121_01213100_1.jpg

  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (melted)
  • 1/3 cup cornstarch
  • 2 tbsp baking soda
  • 10-15 drops tea tree oil
  • All you have to do is mix it all together and pour it into a container {I used an old deodorant bottle} and wait for it to cool! This fills exactly one container.

The coconut oil has antibacterial properties to fight odor, the cornstarch absorbs moisture, the baking soda also helps absorb odor as well as moisture, and the tea tree oil has the same effects that I mentioned earlier.


Always be conscious of what goes in and on your body, and don’t be afraid to switch out a few things in your daily routine for more clean and natural alternatives!

Courtney x

Leave a Reply

